top of page

Trying to be busy ...

Why did I try to be busy?

I think I am afraid that if I am not doing anything I will be busy doing something I am not suppose to. Such as?

Being lazy around may be.

Being a little depress may be.

Being melancholic about the past may be.

Being sorry for myself may be.

May be I just trying to be busy and so that I don't have to think of things I am not suppose to think about.

Missing someone really bad, can be real bad.

Am I depress now?

NO!

I am just trying to be busy.

I remembered my grandmother used to say to us ... working is the best medicine of all. No work. No eat. Hahahaha .... that didn't goes well with them grandsons. They think I am really nuts. Somehow I can see my grandmother points.

So ... I am trying to be busy ...

I have been busy sewing a little.

I have been busy taking pictures some.

Here are the outcome ...

First ... I bought me a brand new scissor. I am very please with it. It is look like the one my mother used to have. She sew too you know. I remembered I used it to cut some papersack oh boy oh boy ... Mom was really mad. Well ... you know during those days money was really hard to come by and she probably save many days just to get that scissor. I don't really remembered much what really happened ... but I remembered Dad brought home a brand new scissor for Mom one day, a scissor with a black handle on it. Mine is with copper color on it.

Do you think you will like my new scissor?

Copper Handle Scissor

Then I decided that I should sew me a new block. I know this one is just one of those typical quilt block but if I sew it myself I know it is a new block to me. I started with a four patch. I found some yellow and white fabric... and ta...da... Four Patch Block.

Four Patch Quilt Block

Then I thought I am going to make another block, and here she is ... I don't even know what is the name of this particular block.

Simple Block

Well... I suddenly feeling very enthusiastic and I thought I can make me a little quilt. Something that I can just finish it a few hours. I suppose this is call the Rail Fence Block and I made four blocks and they are good enough to make a little quilt. I put the blocks together, and sandwich them and voila! I have me a tiny Rain Fence quilt. Not quite finish yet but I am please with myself.

Here she is .... what do you think?

Rail Fence Little Quilt

After that I thought I probably have enough scrap fabrics laying someplace and may be I could make a new quilt. A Rail Fence quilt. So ... I gather all my fabrics and here they are ... bright and red. Red is the color of bravery, my Mom said to me once. I don't know if remembering my mother this way is a good way or I am just trying to stay busy ....

Red for brave?

Rail Fence in progress

Sometimes I get tired so I decided to stop for now. The trying to be busy will continue ...

What are you busy at lately?

bottom of page