top of page

5 Days Cookie Challenge

I know. I know. I haven't been here for two weeks? May be more then that. We have been away. When we got back there are a thousand of things that asking for my attention. Christmas cards. Phone calls.Warming the house. Jetlag. Hahahahahhaa ... just an hour different won't get you a jetlag of course but it felt that way to me ... we were just exhausted. I am at least. Well .... what is this 5 Days Cookie Challenge?

I just made myself 5 Days Cookies Challenge - before Christmas of course. Do you think I am a little insane or just plain silly stupid that kind? Christmas is almost at our front door and honestly, I haven't started anything "Christmasy" yet. What do you like that!

Well ... I want to have something to bake and making the house warm and toasty and smell good. I know my darling hubby is not a great cookies lover but having cookies for Christmas is wonderful don’t you think so? I would think so. I have so much things to do before Christmas and so little time to fit in everything.

Honestly ... I only have 24 hours everyday like everybody else but my energy level probably will only last for 6 hours. Well ... I am not young anymore that is for sure and beside cookies are not the only thing I have to “take care” of today or tomorrow.

The chickens and ducks are already waiting for me to be feed. Oh they are a mess .. the guineas are just as a mess as the others, and yes I have to check on the goats. The baby goats.

Did I mention baby goats? Yes ... we had a surprise ... well it is not really a surprise for me considering I told Darling Hubby Baby is pregnant. But he insisted that Baby is not pregnant, she is too fat and asked me not to feed her too much. I said OK. Then here we are went for a short trip to visit the youngest son in Connecticut.

We had a great trip. The youngest son said so ... and yes I had a great trip with Darling Hubby but the best part of the trip to Connecticut is where the youngest son actually or purposely invited us to come to visit him so that we can help him to put up and decorate his Christmas tree. I am glad we accepted his invitation and we got to spent our times with him and another surprise was it snow and snow and snow in Connecticut.

5 inches snow can be an awesome sight especially if you are in the middle of a golf course and watching the Canadian geese having a party before taking off to a warmer place.

Well, for goosegracious ... I thought this is about my 5 Days Cookies Challenge.

The 1st Cookie

Nothing fancy but just one classic cookie recipe. At least that what I think. The housekeeper of the kitchen in every household in America, I only can imagine how they are going to make fancy festive cookies at this time of the year. I have a lot to learn in this area. So lets have our 1st Cookie of the 5 Days Cookies Challenge.

Classic Sugar Cookie

Ingredients

1 ½ cups powdered sugar

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ teaspoon almond extract

1 egg

2 ½ cups Gold Medal™ all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

Granulated sugar or colored sugar

Steps

1. Mix powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, almond extract and egg in large bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients except granulated sugar. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours.

2. Heat oven to 375ºF. Lightly grease cookie sheet.

3. Divide dough in half. Roll each half 1/4 inch thick on lightly floured surface. Cut into desired shapes with 2- to 2 1/2-inch cookie cutters. Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Place on cookie sheet.

4. Bake 7 to 8 minutes or until edges are light brown. Remove from cookie sheet. Cool on wire rack.

So my 1st Cookie Challenge recipe is here. No! No! this is not my original or my own recipe, not my mom recipe, either. My mom will make a completely different type of cookies.

Yes I have to steal this recipe from BettyCrocker. They are looking cute and easy to make.

https://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/classic-sugar cookies/90993177

I love BettyCrocker, don’t you too?

If you are beginner in making cookies, like me ... let me know how this Sugar Cookies turn out for you, you will, will you?

bottom of page