top of page

Mother


Persimmons

I am thinking of my mother this very morning. I am lost with words. So, I decided I can borrow someone's poem ... hopefully it is not a big crime. I remembered what my mother think of borrowing someone else "stuff and thing" ... she always said, it is better to be the lender then being a borrower. I do hope I translated that correctly. Today I am thinking of my mother.

MOTHER IS WATER I wish I could Shower your head with flowers And anoint your feet with my tears, For I know I have caused you So much heartache, frustration and despair – Throughout my youthful years. I wish I could give you The remainder of my life To add to yours, Or simply erase The lines on your face, And mend all that has been torn. For next to God, You are the fire That has given light To the flame in each of my eyes. You are the fountain That nourished my growth, And from your chalice – Gave me life. Without the wetness of your love, The fragrance of your water, Or the trickling sounds of Your voice, I shall always feel thirsty.” ― Suzy Kassem, Rise Up and Salute the Sun: The Writings of Suzy Kassem

How do you remembering a Mother?

bottom of page