top of page

Random Quilt Block

I always enjoy looking at quilt blocks. They are either intriguing, inspiring, challenging or just plain enjoyment for my eyes.

This winter has been too long ... at least for me.

I can’t wait for Spring to come because I am aching to start my gardening. This winter has been cold, cold and wet. What would you do if you have to stay indoor most of the time? I don’t mind the cold as long as it is dry and sunny outside. The past few days has been raining a lot. Wet and cold. Cold and wet. Muddy and wet and cold. Yuck!

I have been reading a lot lately and if I keep reading, reading will end up being my full time job. Well ... I have to think of something to do when things like this happening. Did you know that I am still learning to sew a straight lines? Well, I thought I could come up with some random quilt block. I could get some inspiration from those quilting magazines I bought at the Quilt Guild Meeting last week or I can just create one. I have bunch of scrap fabrics and I can use them. Lets see ...

I made one the the one day ... darling hubby said its look like a little bird house. Do you think so?

Birdhouse Block

I made a few more and I am just wondering how am I going to sew them together

Here is another quilt block I made up.

I am sure don’t have a name for it. I decided to sew the leftover fabrics from one of my doll quilt project.

Random Quilt Blocks

I end up with six blocks. I wonder what it would be like if I made more these blocks and put them together. A lap quilt may be? A throw quilt may be? I am just wondering.

I also made Pumpkin Quilt Block sometimes last year.

I do hope they look like a pumpkin :)

Pumpkin Block

How do people ... I mean those wonderful quilters ... how do they decide what quilt block they are going to make or use for their next quilt?

Do you have any ideas?

bottom of page